Can't make it to us? We'll deliver to you! Free delivery in Pittsburgh. Call us or purchase through the website.

You Only Live Once David Bravo

hardcover

 

Coco meets Sliding Doors in this laugh-out-loud, heartwarming middle grade novel from Schneider Family Book Award winner and Lambda Literary Award finalist Mark Oshiro.

Middle school is the worst, especially for David Bravo. He doesn’t have a single class with his best (and only) friend, Antoine. He has to give a presentation in social studies about his heritage, but he’s not sure how—or even if—he wants to explain to his new classmates that he’s adopted. After he injures Antoine in a cross-country accident, he just wishes he could do it all over.

He doesn’t expect his wish to summon a talking, shapeshifting, annoying dog, Fea, who claims that a choice in David’s past did set him on the wrong timeline…and she can take him back to fix it.

But when their first try (and the second, and the third) is a total disaster, David and Fea are left scrambling through timeline after timeline, trying to figure out what she’s really here to fix—a quest that may lead them to answers in the most unexpected places.

Perfect for fans of Sal and Gabi Break the Universe and When You Reach Me, this time-bending adventure from the author of The Insiders is a surprising and delightful story of identity, family, and the choices that make us who we are.

 

Mark Oshiro is the award-winning author of the young adult books Anger Is a Gift (Schneider Family Book Award) and Each of Us a Desert, as well as their middle grade debut, The Insiders. They are also the coauthor (with Rick Riordan) of the upcoming Percy Jackson novel centered on Nico di Angelo and Will Solace. When not writing, they are trying to pet every dog in the world.

“A joyful novel with a pick-your-path vibe. Both lighthearted and deeply moving.” -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“This funny, brave, charming novel is packed full of delights.” -Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A beautiful story of friendship, love, family and finding yourself that made me laugh and cry from start to finish. This book will make you wish that you, too, had a witty xoloitzcuintli to take you on the greatest adventure of your life.” -Maulik Pancholy, Stonewall Honor-winning author of The Best At It

“So funny, the pages practically turn themselves. This time-bendy, big-hearted story asks all the important questions middle-schoolers have about identity, culture, orientation, and managing anxiety, and addresses them with equal parts kindness, heft, and hilarity.” -Carlos Hernandez, author of Sal & Gabi Break the Universe







Related Items


/\%\}/